Teriyaki Chicken with Bok Choy

So I’ve been on a mission to try things lately that I’ve never had and Bok Choy wasn’t even on my radar until I was looking online for recipes to make with my surplus of chicken thighs I have in the freezer. Eric had never had Bok Choy before himself so neither of us had any idea how it would taste. Bok Choy virgins! So I set out to make this recipe with not a lot of expectation but it will be something I save the recipe and make again!!

I have to say while cooking the chicken I was really concerned with it burning because it was cooking at such a high oven temperature so I kept checking it every few minutes and my anxiety grew as I’d check it and the chicken appeared black like you’ll see in the photo but let me tell you now there is nothing to worry about it’s intended to be this color. When you go to town eating this dish you will savor that extra crispy teriyaki flavored skin. 

There isn’t much guidance on how to prepare the bok choy and if you’ve never made it or had it you can be a little lost when making this dish but from my experience the leaves that I basted with the teriyaki sauce were moist and yummy and the ones that may had not gotten any teriyaki sauce on them tended to crisp up and almost burn so I’d say baste the bok choy with the teriyaki sauce and also rinse the bok choy before cooking because the moisture from the water will also help it. Enjoy!

’til next time,

Crys

Serves 4

Hands-On Time: 10m

Total Time: 1hr 05m

Ingredients

  • 1  clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/4  cup  plus 1/3 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 8  bone-in chicken thighs (2 1/2 pounds)
  • 1  cup  long-grain white rice
  • 2  bunches  baby bok choy, quartered

Directions

1. In a large bowl, combine the garlic and ¼ cup of the teriyaki sauce. Add the chicken, turn to coat, cover, and let marinate for 30 minutes.

2. Cook the rice according to the package directions.

3. Meanwhile, heat oven to 450° F. Place the chicken on a foil-lined rimmed baking sheet and roast, basting with the remaining ⅓ cup of teriyaki sauce, until cooked through, 25 to 30 minutes. Ten minutes before the chicken is done, add the bok choy. Serve the chicken and bok choy over the rice.

Tip

To make your own teriyaki sauce, whisk together ½ cup soy sauce, ½ cup water, ¼ cup packed light brown sugar, 1 clove garlic (chopped), and ½ teaspoon of ground ginger.

Nutritional Information

Calories 594; Fat 24g; Sat Fat 7g; Cholesterol 140mg; Sodium 1,210mg; Protein 45g; Carbohydrate 47g; Sugar 5g; Fiber 2g; Iron 4mg; Calcium 40mg

 

Read More: http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/teriyaki-chicken-bok-choy-00100000078547/

Leave a comment