Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

I had some heavy cream left over from my attempt at making the ice cream a few posts ago and since the cream is not cheap I couldn’t go and allow it to spoil and waste away so initially I went on a search to see if  I could freeze it just like I had with my left over buttermilk and while it does say freezing the heavy cream is okay it indicated it wouldn’t whip up very good like it would if fresh and unfrozen soooo I asked my friend Google to give me recipes that use heavy cream and one of the things I found I had most of the ingredients in my kitchen for was this Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta recipe. I thought perfect!

Now there are a few things that I altered in this recipe because I didn’t have the exact ingredients like sun dried tomatoes. I had a can of diced tomatoes that I used in place of these and while the sun dried tomatoes would have been delicious I figured there was no reason in wasting money buying them if I already had the diced tomatoes and they’re not a major component in the recipes. The next thing is I had bought some shredded parmesan cheese for some reason and after buying I couldn’t figure out why so instead of using grated parm cheese I used the shredded I had and sometimes I’ve noticed if you use grated over shredded or vise versa in a recipe it doesn’t really change the flavor but sometimes can change the texture of a dish but in this case I don’t think it was a bad thing to use shredded over grated. The only other thing I can add is the recipe says 1-2 cups of heavy cream I used a cup and a half and it was almost too much so start with 1 cup and see where you’re at and then you can always add more if you think you need more but I really think 1 cup is more than enough. Enjoy!

’til next time,

Crys

 

 

Ingredients

    • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin strips
    • 4 ounces linguine, cooked al dente
    • 2 teaspoons cajun seasoning ( your recipe, recipe #14190 or store-bought)
    • 2 tablespoons butter
    • 1 thinly sliced green onions
    • 1 -2 cup heavy whipping cream
    • 2 tablespoons chopped sun-dried tomatoes
    • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon dried basil
    • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
    • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Place chicken and Cajun seasoning in a bowl and toss to coat.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, sauté chicken in butter or margarine until chicken is tender, about 5 to 7 minutes.
  3. Reduce heat add green onion, heavy cream, tomatoes, basil, salt, garlic powder, black pepper and heat through.
  4. Pour over hot linguine and toss with Parmesan cheese.

 

Read More: http://www.food.com/recipe/creamy-cajun-chicken-pasta-39087

 

One thought on “Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

  1. This is such a great weblog over here. I wanna thank you for that and I’ll visit your website again. Please take a look at my website also??? Thanks!

Leave a comment